cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The DOD policy comic book idea

I had this idea back in 2000 to write a monthly comic book about defense issues and technologies. I still think it's a good idea.

We have history and ongoing conflicts and the intersection of American interests with those histories and conflicts along with developing technologies and ideas. A monthly graphic novel would be a good way of telling a story in that space.

Would this be something that people in the defense industry and policy-making space want to read? I think so.

This is still a good idea and I'd like to do it.

Today I ran out of any money in the bank and am down to less than $200 in cash. I have pitched some really good stuff these last few days. A story here in Ch@rlottesville about an immigrant woman who has been hiding from ICE in a church for over a year. I pitched that to M0th3r Jones. The editor there still sees me as a Neanderthal, I think. I took her on a pig hunt back when I was a professional hunter. We got along very well and had a good time, but in her mind I'm still the ham-fisted gun-guy. In spite of my track record of heavy science journalism and dangerous civil rights journalism, I think I'm still the crazy hunter guy to her. So I hope that she will finally see past that after I've pitched a few other things to her.

I also pitched a piece about seven species of Pl3istocene megafauna that survived into the H0locene to both Sm1thsonian and Atl@s Obscura. Despite the fact that I wrote for Sm1thsonian for years, I suspect that I will hear nothing back from them and maybe will get something from Atl@s Obscura. They keep turning down good pitches with "I love it but we can't because XYZ" feedback. Maybe this will be the one that they take.

2:36 a.m. - 2019-12-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far