cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All out of options. I have to go back to covering hell.

I pitched coverage of the anticipated January 20th "militia day" in Virginia's capitol to both The Guardian and The Daily Beast.

I covered all sorts of bad shit for The Daily Beast. Fallout from 8/12, alt-right rallies in various states. It was going fine, then they didn't pay me. For months, with some stupid technical problem. I was pissed off enough at them that I stopped sending them new stories.

At the time, I had plenty of new work coming in from Rewire.

Eventually, I got pissed off at Rewire as well when they didn't even give me an interview for an open position in DC and also pretty well ignored me when a neo-Nazi shot up a news room in Annapolis and then guys like me were right in the crosshairs.

So now I haven't been in the mix for over a year. I haven't been pitching shit to new outlets in over two years. I am in the wilderness and broke and desperate.

Yesterday I pitched to the now national editor of The Daily Beast. I didn't hear back, so tonight I pitched to the US features editor of The Guardian.

The event that I offered to each of them was the "lobby day" on 01/20 in Richmond, Virginia, when thousands of armed militia members will show up to advocate for their position.

This has the potential to turn into a disastrous, violent event. I know how to cover something like that.

Antifa and militia and various nutcases all coming together in the street. I can do that.

I don't want to be that guy anymore. But I don't know what else to do for a living. I have about $30 in cash left and that is literally everything I have left. I don't want to keep doing this, but I don't know how else to survive.

1:09 a.m. - 2020-01-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far