cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks, Jiri.

I hope that this is rock bottom. I have about five dollars left in the form of a few ones and pocket change. My car is barely functioning. The output pole on the alternator broke off a few weeks ago and now it is intermittent in it's charging of the battery. Things are bad.

I applied for a job at UVA which I should be ideally suited for. Writing for UVA Today. But they have a technical requirement of a degree in either communications or journalism or English. I have none of the above, but I have 7 years of experience as a journalist writing for world-renowned outlets like the NYT, the WP, Slate, Smithsonian, etc. Rationally, my body of work should demonstrate something far greater than any degree indicates. But I don't know what kind of rules they have to follow.

Another position was offered to me for a communications job at a non-profit that wishes to be unknown. I could probably find out who they are in 15 minutes of work but I choose not to. They want someone who can write grant proposals and tell stories about vulnerable people who need help.

Tomorrow I will try to pawn my Bosch jigsaw and maybe one of my guns as well. My phone plan lapsed over a week ago and I cannot place phone calls nor respond to texts.

Jiri has not responded to my forward of an email from the UF HR department where they rejected my request for status as a contractor and said that I have to be treated as an employee. I put in a lot of work writing up a TV show proposal for the Smithsonian Channel pitching a doc around his research.

That is a thousand dollars that I desperately need. I have done the work and he is ignoring it.

Fucking asshole.

I'm just desperately trying to survive in the most bare-bones way and that has turned very difficult.

1:35 a.m. - 2020-02-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far