cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My best moment as a human being

I was thinking about that day on August 12th when I was at the top of the stairs in the middle of the riot covering it as a journalist and this armed neo-Nazi came up to me with a few of his guys behind him and he told me to leave. And I looked him right in the eye and I said, "we must each of us do our duty as we understand it."

He held my gaze for a moment and then he looked away and he and his guys moved off.

I was quoting Abraham Lincoln's Cooper Union speech and paraphrasing Nelson's speech before the battle of Trafalgar, so no doubt the words stirred something in his warped, neo-Nazi soul.

That has stuck with me for the last few years since those events.

In everything that I have done, in everything that I have written since then, that was my best moment as a human being.

2:46 a.m. - 2020-07-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far