cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Getting back

A few weeks ago I wrote this piece up while I was half drunk about foraging for oysters on the Chesapeake Bay. I sent it off as a pitch to a big regional magazine and forgot about it.

Last week, while I was driving back on another oyster gathering expedition, I got an email back from them. I saw the first few words in the app on my phone. "Thank you for your submission..."

I assumed it was another blow-off and ignored it.

Monday afternoon, I had another email from them, bumping it for a response.

Holy shit, I sold a piece. for the first time in over a year.

I read it again.

Oh, how it sings. It is maybe the best piece of writing I will have published in years.

It is a back page personal essay. With religious allusions and layers of shit that an English class could spend weeks unpacking. I mean, it's really fucking good. The staff of the magazine are raving about it.

And I just tossed it off.

I know that I am good. I worked my way up to that 1% of non-fiction writers and then I fucked it all up by doing civil rights stuff for a year. Nobody wanted to hire the guy who might attract an alt right nutbag who guns the whole newsroom down.

It has been a struggle trying to get back to even close to where I was before.

With the book that I have half written now, if I still had the platform that I had while I was writing for Sm1ths0nian then I would have a very low six figure deal immediately.

I'm fighting to get back to even close to where I was. Back to a platform.

I still have the ideas, the talent. My old editors have moved on, the email addresses I have for pitches are dead ends. I don't know how to get my work out there again. I'm fucking good. I'm working really hard to get my platform back. Finally, this is something.

12:43 a.m. - 2021-05-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far