cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Overqualified

I broke out of my bubble and looked at job listings. I could be a editor for Richmond M2gazine or an editor for the Richmond T1mes Dispatch.

But I am overqualified. Bizarrely.

They want to hire people two years out of college.

I have written regularly for the Washington Post, Slate, Sm1thsonian, the Da1ly Beast, and many other important publications. I have years of experience doing this.

But I have never worked in any newsroom.

I have years of experience writing for world-class publications as a freelancer. Can I get any magazine to hire me as staff on any level?

According to their published standards, I am way, way, over qualified. While I have also never worked in any newsroom, ever.

Christ, I hope that someone gives me a chance and just lets me write and edit on a schedule.

3:28 a.m. - 2021-07-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far