cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sure, USA Today, I'm Your Guy

I am so happy with my children. They are both such wonderful people. My daughter is 17, and waiting tables until she starts college a month from now in R1chmond. My son is 14 and has, improbably, been hired at one of this fair city's highest end restaurants as a buser and food-runner.

Of course it is because the restaurant industry has been sent into a tailspin by the sort-of-post-COVID economy. Harry can get a job at $14 an hour plus tips because people in their 30's and 40's have had enough of that shit.

I am starting to see some jobs in Richmond that I would like to have. Coaching writers for USA Today looks good, but why do they only have three employees listed at the USA Today property in St P3tersburg? You want a writing coach for that thin bench?

Whatever. I am happy to apply for that. I know that I have a really broad range of work that I have published. I've written features and short pieces and personal essays and books sufficient to show that I can do a bit of everything. And if USA Today wants an in-house coach who can teach their upcoming talent how to do anything, I am honestly that guy.

3:53 a.m. - 2021-07-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far