cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A new way of things

In seven days I leave for Europe again. Alone, this time. When I return I will have flown on 16 different airplanes this year.

I came down with a bad cold on Monday while I was around the upper Chesapeake Bay, travelling on business. It me hard right after I got home. Yesterday was rough, working on very little sleep, and I came home early.

Trish and the kids will be going out of town for labor day weekend to visit her grandparents. I wish I could do stuff with Ida on Saturday. I don't know what the hell I'm going to do on this 3 day weekend by myself. Maybe write? With the tendonosis I can't really do anything else productive.

It is crunch time in terms of piling up enough cash for my trip. Plane tickets and lodging are all paid for. So its a question of getting together the Euros for food, local transportation and museum admission and hopefully enough for a day trip into Austria. Right now I've got what works out to about 30 Euros a day. I could manage with this if I really have to, but I'm trying to get a few hundred bucks more together. 50 Euros per day would be much more comfortable.

Use of credit cards is basically out once I get there. Aside from gas stations and hotels catering to tourists, nobody in Germany takes credit cards.

I can still use my AmEx at airports. Aside from that it is cash only.

Autumn has asserted its self. Subtly, but its there. That slight reddish angle of the light. The manic, fat, black crickets. A few fallen leaves. This is autumn as far as I'm concerned. It is the changing time. At the end of this month it will be cold at night, I will be recovering from surgery, my book should be mostly done and I will be teaching that new class. Ida will have fallen completely into her routine at Kindergarden. A new way of things is coming about. A good way, I hope.

2:03 p.m. - 2009-09-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far