cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Ham Hock In Your Corn Flakes

Mnemosynea is coming here in just 3 days! This is awesome. Trish and I have babysitting lined up for most of the weekend. Much fun will be had.

It is raining. Which is good because we need the rain. But I really wanted to mow the terribly long and disheveled lawn before this weekend and I can't do that when the grass is wet.

My wild grapes are just about ripe. I think I will pick most of them after work. They grow almost everywhere on my property. The key is getting to them before the birds and deer and bears do. I want to make wine with them this year.

In other news I have developed a sudden and bizarre fascination with Feist's cover of 'Inside and Out.' First the song and now the video as well. I have never considered myself a Feist fan. The whole thing is just weird.

At first the song was just a coathook for a 5 note synth hook. Then I started thinking that this sounds like some long lost Diana Ross recording from 1979 or so. And then I started imagining this song being used in Pulp Fiction during the scene with Vince and Jules driving to the apartment building. In place of 'Jungle Boogie.' By then I had reached the point of no return. I'm watching the video on youtube over and over again with Feist walking around in her apartment in black and white.

It's a slippery slope between a catchy synth hook and a sincere interest in what Feist's vagina feels like.

This is not what could be called the sort of music I would generally listen to. It's a far cry from the Pink Dots or Tom Waits or Ravel or British Sea Power. However, now that I think of it I do have a long history of ocassionally developing weird obsessions with slightly dancey soul-influenced songs. Starting with the Fugees' cover of 'Killing Me Softly With His Song.' Then there's _ by Rafael Saddiq. I still go through phases of putting that on repeat.

There are 2 really good definitions of what 'soul' music is. The first would be that it's basically secular gospel. The second (and superior) definition was in a song by Parliament in which George Clinton says: "What is soul? Soul is a ham hock in your corn flakes!"

Fuck yeah. It's a ham hock in your corn flakes.

10:37 a.m. - 2008-09-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far