cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So it Comes Back to Wife-Swapping

My father is running in the Boston marathon right now and looks to be on track for his target time. 3:20

Still no word from my brother about whether his job offer from the White House is finalized. I wonder if he's assuming that I've taken a side in this spat between him and our mother, which I haven't. I refuse to participate in that kind of drama.

Tomorrow I have to drive down near the NC border to teach this fucking professional development class on Wednesday morning. Fuck that. Why did I ever agree to teach another round of these things? My head is not in this at all. I'm supposed to be all enthusiastic about this particular niche of my profession when the truth is that I am trying to get the fuck out of this business as fast as possible.

No word from my agent yet about the contract amendments for my book deal. I hope this doesn't end up screwing up the deal or something. Everything is all set for this meeting with the Discovery channel people on Friday. I have my train tickets. My friend Mary wants to come up with me for the day, because she grew up in DC and worked there for years and wants to take me to the National Z0o, where she used to work with the gori11as. Literally, she can take me in to meet them in person.

I'm not sure that there will be enough time for that. I alrady got my ticket, which can't be exchanged, and I leave DC at 4 pm.

Have I mentioned the Mary thing here yet?

Mary and I went to summer camp together for about 7 years (a real, sleep-away camp with cabins and shit where we'd be there for 2-4 weeks at a time - not some day camp BS) In retrospect, I've known her longer than anyone else outside of my family. She developed a crush on me when I was 8 and she was 9 and this lasted all the way into the beginning of high school, at which point we lost touch. We were part of a small group of friends that was very close in our middle school years especially.

I found her on Facebook a month or 2 ago and she lives right near me! She's married to a really awesome guy and we've all been hanging out pretty much every weekend ever since. She and Trish are suddenly best friends and talk on the phone all the time.

Mary and I both developed a lot of the same interests since losing touch. The coincidences are remarkable. We both got really into aquariums and fish (which I'm no longer doing, aside from some guppies for lack of space) and had phases of studying enthogens and wild plants as medicine. Of course, I was mostly learning about shit to get high on in college, while she actually did a 3 year herbology program. But still.

We went out on Saturday night, got dinner and had a few drinks and went to see this movie, 'Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.' The movie was fine, but about 40 minutes into it Trish got up to use the bathroom and Mary did too. I had to go anyway, so I thought it would be less disturbing to the other people in our aisle if I got up right then with them.

We came out of the bathroom and I was chatting with the guy at the ticket counter, who happens to be an old friend of mine. And I said, 'you guys should have a bar here so I could grab a drink really fast before going back into the theater. And James pointed down a hall and said that actually they DO have a bar, attached to the restaurant that is part of this art house theater.

All 3 of us immediately made a beeline for the bar. Long story short, Trish had one drink with us and then went back into the theater with Mary's husband while Mary and I stayed at the bar for the rest of the movie and got fucking hammered together.

About 3 drinks in, she finally got around to confessing having been in love with me for the better part of a decade, as if I didn't know. I apologized for having been such a dipshit of a little kid who never had any idea of what to do about that. It was never my intent to reject her - I just didn't know what I was supposed to be doing. I mean, between the ages of 1 and 12 years you cannot expect a boy to know what to do with a girl or when to kiss her. And I actually *did* mess around with other girls at those ages, but only because they took me firmly in hand.

We got a lot of good stuff out of our systems. It is really wonderful seeing her face again, especially as a regular thing.

It seemed pretty clear to me, during our drunken conversation alone at the bar, that she still holds some kind of a torch. And she *is* attractive. I've had this little hope all along that we could all just end up swapping wives for the evening now and then. It would be fun. Not that I've breathed a word about that to any of them. But there is no question that I would definitely have sex with Mary.

The only complication would be her husband, who is now a friend of mine and a guy whom I really like and respect and wouldn't do anything to hurt. Which is why a swapping situation would be ideal. He fucks my wife, I fuck his wife, everybody wins.

12:36 p.m. - 2010-04-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far