cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Finished for Reals

DONE! My editor gave instructions for the rest of my advance to be issued to me. I am all fucking done with work on the deer book, for reals. Now all I have to do for that is the promotion.

I need to start working on this Op ed piece for the New York T1mes. I have plenty of time, but I want it to be just right and I think I should have it ready early, just in case the news cycle surprises me and I need to move faster.

Today I finally feel like a bit of the pressure has been relieved. I'm in town at a tea house, drinking a beer and checking out some woman's ass as she leans over the bar in front of me. Catching up on some email today. I should be writing more gun reviews but I'm just not feeling it right now.

My first market for the travel pieces shot me down this morning, but there are plenty of other places to shop this stuff to.

Some journalist in DC is trying to come down and spend a few days with me for some feature article. I dunno. She's not even being clear on what publication this would be for, which is not a good sign. She's written for the W@shington P0st and for F0rbes, so she's a big kid journalist.

My agent agreed with my expected price range for what we should get for the new book. I feel a little bit better about that now. We should at least be getting $50k and if I'm lucky then maybe we can get a bidding war to send it higher.

I'm trying to get very good at the business end of writing for a living.

When the first advance payment comes for the new book I'm going to buy a truck. I need a new vehicle very badly. It makes the most sense to buy something that can tow my pop-up trailer on road trips for the book.

3:08 p.m. - 2011-01-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far