cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just agree to pay me X fee to write Y article.

Today I interviewed Fabian, a Club Kid from the early 90' NYC scene for a story for SPIN.

I LOVE Fabian. He is incredibly old school, which just means that he managed to exist from then to now but he has done hair for TV shows and movies for the last 30 years. Qu33r Eye for the Straight Guy, Sh0rt Bus, Am3rican Horror Story.

This guy worked with T0m Rubn1tz and L@dy Bunny and RuPaul and all of these people whom Christa was obsessed with.

I've been working on this story for SP1N for a month. Fabian has been a breath of fresh air. I would love to take him and Lane, his boyfriend whom I also think is awesome, for a night out in R1chmond, hitting thrift stores and record shops and graveyards and then nightclubs.

But my bankroll is disappearing really fucking fast. This story is only going to pay $500. My supposedly awesome editor still hasn't given me any clarity about how much I'm supposed to be paid for this B1g Lurch story or for the W00lly Mammoth story. I'm not going to be able to do much of anything very soon.

So I'm applying for whatever the fuck. A non-profit that publishes reports on chemical stuff. I'm reaching out to quantum recruiters just asking for freelance work. I'm about a week from signing up to bus glass at a brewery.

Meanwhile I'm trying to get a written commitment to $1,000 for the mammoth story from this fucking twat at SP1N who talks a big game about bringing SP1N back into real journalism, but can't write a fucking email saying that he will pay X for Y work.

I just want to get paid a basic wage to write good shit. Why is this so hard right now? I have to make a car payment at the end of this month and also put gas in my car and buy groceries. I know biology and quantum physics and corporate marketing and someone should want this skill set.

3:56 a.m. - 2023-05-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far