cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Better Living Through Predation

Oh yeah; one more thing. I'm not letting any of this shit happen again.

Deer ticks, which transmit the Lyme disease that Simon has, depend on deer. So no more fucking deer. Or at least these outrageous populations around my house have got to be thinned out. I saw 3 deer up close yesterday right next to my car before I turned into my driveway. I could literally see their ribs. They are starving to death because there is such an enormous overpopulation here that there isn't enough food to go around. Going into winter with basically zero fat, things are going to get ugly. By the end of January there will be some Auchwitz-looking deer staggering around here. That's nature without predation.

Right after work I'm going into the woods and shooting one or more deer. I don't care that it's archery season rather than rifle season. There's too many fucking deer here and it's become a very personal health issue for me.

Next is raccoons. I never had any reason to want to hunt raccoons. I did shoot one when I was 19 because it was dying of rickets and could barely lift it's head. People usually hunt them because they keep chickens that the raccoons will kill. In this case, assuming that the blood tests come up with a positive, they are fighting with my dogs and transmitting potentially deadly diseases to them. We have a problem here that I intend to solve. It won't be a pretty solution but it will be an effective one.

2:18 p.m. - 2007-10-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far