cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Karl Marx Was Wrong

This woman whom I work with (Cynthia) is just so fucking dumb. She is a very nice person but just dumb, dumb, dumb.

I write my own auto insurance at work, what with being technically a licensed agent (although we don't actually work with the general public at all) but it's always a little awkward calling up the company and making changes to my own policy. They're always like 'wait a minute, you need to call your agent instead of us.' Then I have to convince them that I actually am my own agent.

Anyway, because of this I asked Cynthia to make the phone call to delete my BMW from the policy and add the ZX2. Technically, going from a very high end car to a mid-range car should disqualify me from having my policy in a preferred rating tier and the premium should go up significantly. However, it is possible that I can stay in and be grandfathered for years if nobody notices.

So I told Cynthia to call in the change and I explained the rating tier issue. I said that I wanted to just sort of sneak it by them and if they said that the rating tier had to change, she should point out that this policy is for an agency owner and they might want to make an exception in this case.

This fucking retard makes the changes and then right before ending the phone call she asks the person on the phone what rating tier this would be in. Thus prompting the woman at the company to realize that she needs to re-tier me when she was about to just let it go.

I could have fucking strangled her.

Thanks, Cynthia. You only just cost me about A THOUSAND FUCKING DOLLARS through your sheer stupidity.

However, the thing I should remember is that this is probably most people. Cynthia is not really retarded. She probably has an IQ of about 100. Perfectly average. With a weak, saccharine sense of humor and no social engineering skills whatsoever. I shouldn't be too hard on her. This kind of shit is the reason why the world has managers and bosses. Because most people are like a bunch of fucking cattle and need to be watched and poked and have their hands held at every moment. This is why I am the boss and she is the employee.

This is why it's ok for me to sit on my ass as much as I do at work. I conduct negotiations for commissions and underwriting decisions and I don't do stupid shit like she just did. When it's time to make a big, sophisticated play for something that will net tens or hundreds of thousands of dollars, I do not fall flat on my face and fuck everything up like tactless Cynthia did on the phone just now. My sparse productivity interspersed with moments of soaring brilliance are worth far more than her diligent efforts all year. You can teach someone like me how to do Cynthia's job but you can never teach someone like Cynthia how to not be retarded and how to not fuck up business negotiations.

Karl Marx was completely wrong. A classless society would collapse almost immediately. You can change the rules about who gets to be in what class and how they can move from one class to another. That's not only justice but it's wise. But you can't hand the world over to the 100's like Cynthia and expect it to continue to function.

4:27 p.m. - 2007-10-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far