cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Obnoxious Parents

You know what's really fuckin' annoying? Parents of infants who constantly put words into the baby's mouth. "He says 'hello!'" Or, 'he says I love this green shirt that aunt Betsy got for me!"

No, the baby did not say that. YOU said it. The baby would just as soon crawl around naked if it's warm enough. He doesn't even remember who the fuck aunt Betsy is. Stop projecting your own opinions and imagined dialog onto this infant.

I swear, I know some mothers who literally precede every other sentence that they utter with the words 'he says.' They have the baby uttering something in agreement with every inane thought that comes out of their mouths. It's pathetic. AS I TYPE THIS, there is someone in my office doing exactly that.

There's just no need for it.

Dammit. The father was doing it before. Now the mother is. Ugh.

Oh, it's getting even worse. Now she's putting words in his mouth in this infantile voice, complete with child-like mispronunciations. Oh, great. A 'Home Star Runner' speech impediment to boot. She's turning 'L's into 'W's. 'Heh-wo' for 'hello, etc.' The baby is, like, 6 months old. He doesn't even babble yet. Why is she pretending that he has a speech impediment? Is this some kind of sick fantasy that she has? A little person who follows her around all day and agrees with everything she says with a heavy speech impediment.

How fucked up can you get? This kid is probably going to grow up to be a heroin addict or something. I promise you that neither Trish nor myself have ever engaged in this kind of horse shit with either of our kids.

______________________________________

I posted a picture of the workshop in progress to my Facebook account this morning. I'd put it here as well, except that I cannot access Diaryland directly from work and only add entries via email. I don't think that I can add a photo through email.

Anyway, the reason why the idea of the little porch at the back of the workshop appeals to me is that would create a destination with line of sight that doesn't include any other structures except the back fence. It would create a perfect place for a little garden. As I've said here before, the idea of starting in on this landscape is extremely daunting on account of how big it is. Over 6 acres. To just start where ever would feel almost futile. I need to begin by creating small, enclosed gardens that are very much visually separate from the rest of the landscape. Then in a few years I can begin connecting those spaces with something grander.

13:38 - 2008-03-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far