cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

15 years? Is that really Possible?

Even aside from the construction, it was a busy weekend. The fundraiser on Saturday night went well. I was worried that I would get there and see that everyone was holding bottles of Heinekin and Bud just because it was what they were used to. But when I walked in the door there were something like 300 people in there drinking the home made beer. Nobody touched the commercial stuff in bottles. The home brew was a huge hit. It was my beer, 2 other brewers who made a beer each and then Kevin had made 2 different ciders. I think it's fair to say that I won, because my keg was the first to run dry.

I ate so fucking much. Plate after plate. Literally, I ate probably 3 times more food than anyone else there on account of having been doing heavy manual labor out in the sun all day long. I've heard that in the days before chainsaws and skidders, lumberjacks used to have to eat over 6,000 calories per day just to maintain their weight. I can believe that. Both Saturday and Sunday nights I was ravenous. I cannot remember ever having a bigger appetite than I have had these last few days. The number of calories that one burns doing this kind of work is incredible. On Friday night I kept working for a few hours after dark through the use of some heavy-duty work lights. When I came inside I ate an entire loaf of garlic bread before even starting on dinner per se. My body demands fuel. Under these circumstances, the act of eating becomes a very different experience.

Now I'm looking forward to next weekend not only for the sake of the actual progress on construction that takes place when I have full days to devote to the work, but because of the fact that I will then become outrageously ravenous and will get to cram all manner of fuel into my pie hole. It's a whole thing that people with desk jobs miss out on. Seriously, the entire experience of eating is completely different when you are burning thousands of calories on manual labor. There's no guilt whatsoever about eating everything in sight. You are not in danger of getting fat. Everything tastes good. Things that you didn't think you liked before will become perfectly acceptable in the light of the urgent need to put everything possible in your stomach.

Last night we went to that concert. Corn Mo and They Might be Giants. I realized today that the first time I saw TMBG live was about 15 years ago. Holy shit! I was 14 years old. The type of crowd you see now at their shows is very different than it was 15 years ago. Back then it was all college students. Last night it was this mixture of people as old as their 40's and 50's with some college students, a lot of high school students and I'm pretty sure a couple of middle school kids as well. The breadth of that band's appeal is remarkable. We ran into some friends at the show. Kaj was there, which was appropriate because he came with me to that first show 15 years ago. M@ndy says she was there but I didn't run into her.

11:08 - 2008-03-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far