cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Froe!

Awesome. Paul (the blacksmith) tells me that he does indeed have a steel froe that he made about 6 years when he was blacksmithing at some historical re-enactment place. He had only made it for purposes of demonstrating how it is made so it's never been used and I'll have to make my own wooden handle for it. He's going to fire up the forge this weekend and see about making an even bigger one out of an old leaf spring from a truck.

For anyone just now joining us, a froe is a manual tool used for splitting wood into roofing shingles. If it's big enough, you can even use it to split rough boards out of certain types of wood. I am going to cut down a couple of nice, big cedar trees on my property that are already dead and thus already dried out, stabilized and ready to be turned into finished lumber. Then I will cut those trees into manageable chunks of wood with a chainsaw, and then start using the froe to split enough cedar shakes to shingle the roof and perhaps use for siding as well.

If I'm able to split some actual boards of any length as well then this opens up a whole new world of possibilities. I could take the rough split boards and run them through my table saw to square up sides. Then depending on the thickness and quantity, I could use them for either floorboards in the attic or wall paneling over the bare studs downstairs in place of drywall. Lots of labor but next to nothing in the way of shelling out any actual money.

I installed another window after work yesterday. That was a bitch to do all by myself. The process ultimately involved a sledgehammer and miraculously I did not end up breaking the glass. Now I've got one more window to go downstairs, plus the 2 little ones in the attic. I can't put in the ones for the attic until the gable end walls are sheathed, which I can't do yet on account of needing another 2x4 stud or so to finish the last little touches of framing of those walls. It's annoying because it's only, like 10 minutes of work that needs to be done in order to get to where I can start sheathing those gable end walls but if I don't have the wood I don't have the wood.

Oh, this is nice. I just got an email from Trish that includes the following:

"you should fuck my ass. Hard. And make me come again. Okay? Thanks."

That's definitely the sort of email I would like to be getting each and every day. Several times a day, preferably.

Damn, the tendon in my left arm is pissing me off today. Another one of these days where I literally can't even answer the phone to the left of me with that arm. I want some fucking vicodin for it already. And a cortisone injection.

11:33 - 2008-05-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far