cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Rain Is Good

It POURED last night. And rained all day yesterday as well. The roof of the workshop is functioning perfectly and it is bone dry in there. It is very satisfying to stand in the pouring rain beneath a roof that one has built and find that everything is dry within.

After work today Ida and I are going toget back to building the ladder/stairs up to the attic. It's sort of a hybrid. You could either call this a very steep staircase or an unusually generous ladder. I have one stringer cut so far. Cutting the stringers is always the hardest part of building either stairs or a ladder. The first stringer, really. Because then you can use that one as a template for cutting the other and take the shortcut around all of that measuring of angles and depths.

It will be very pleasant to work in there today while it is raining. The patter of the rain can be heard on the roofing felt, but it is ot so overwhelming as on a metal roof. An ozone-laced breeze blows in through the open gable ends. And of course there is the always-satisfying sense of having defeated the elements and reduced them to an aesthetic element rather than a threat.

Incidentally, I think this is why most people who say they like winter the best feel that way. They don't like the cold and the snow. They like to *defeat* the cold and the snow and get cozy by a fire while looking out the window at the neutralized landscape.

Ida has been practicing more with her BB rifle, under immediate supervision, of course. She's showing some real improvement and has begun to grasp the specifics of how to aim the rifle properly.

I will paint the stringers of the ladder-stairs black, I believe. I think that I should do this before fitting the treads, which I will put a light stain on rather than paint. The railing will be made of half inch copper pipe which will float about 3 or 4 inches above and parallel to the stringers. It will be a fine thing to look at. Every time I look at that ladder I will be terribly pleased with myself.

Dove season starts in a few days. I need to renew my hunting license. All is well.

10:07 a.m. - 2008-08-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far