cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Year of Mercy

Perhaps this really belonged in my last entry of a few minutes ago, but I want to put it down in writing that I am envisioning 2009 as a year of mercy in nearly every possible respect.

Barack Obama's election after 8 years of Bush. What will his inauguration be but a singularly massive act of mercy for the entire world?

The bail-out plans for banks, homeowners with bad mortgages that they shouldn't have taken and the auto industry. All amount to mercy.

What are we all craving in terms of the economy? Mercy. And really, I have personally been hit very hard by this recession. We want it to end. We want mercy.

What I want personally for 2009 is also mercy. A more livable house in which I can raise my children. One that isn't literally in danger of the living room floor collapsing.

So yeah. 2009 will hopefully be the international year of mercy.

In other news, I put the sling swivels on my custom Mauser project last night. With white line spacers. I had a spare black nylon sling around so I put that on. The rifle looks delicious now. I want to eat it with a spoon. But I really must get a nice leather sling instead of that modern-looking black one. Something old-fashioned that will go with the leather cheek pad which I laced on a few days ago.

11:46 a.m. - 2008-12-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far