cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In Which I am Happy and Successful

Oh, lots of things to write about. Where to start?

First of all, I was in a car accident on Monday morning, which I somehow neglected to mention earlier. Some dude in a Honda van made a quick right turn from a parking lot right into my lane while I was in it, failing to yield right-of-way. He at least admitted fault and was more or less a gentleman about it. I was just delighted that nobody was dead on injured. My car is driveable, but the front right fender is fucked up, part of the mount for the grill and radiator is damaged and the timing belt is making a weird noise. Obviously I'm insured and so is he and everything will be fixed, but its still annoying to deal with.

Yesterday was the big day. I taught my first class and it went really well! I am so fucking relieved you cannot possibly understand. The time even worked out perfectly - I came in right at 2 hours on the nose. That was what I was most worried about. That I'd get to maybe an hour and 10 minutes and run out of material.

All of the evaluation forms that I got to see afterwards said that I did an 'excellent' or 'very good' job in all categories. I feel so so so much better. I no longer need to feel any unease about the passage of time for the next few weeks. I can look forward to my trip to Europe freely.

If I had fucked that class up it would have been a major professional embarrassment. This was a big success for me to pull this thing off.

Alice has some sort of eye infection and Trish is taking her to the vet this afternoon. I looked it up and probably an antibacterial ointment will be all she needs to recover in a few days.

Ida and I have moved on to playing poker against each other for actual money. Loose change. Trish was momentarily aghast, but she's learning a lot of basic math here. In terms of the numbers on the cards, understanding relative values of different hands, and learning that her 5 pennies and 2 dimes are equal to my quarter.

11:46 a.m. - 2009-04-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far