cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pulling It Off

I'm gonna pull this off.

This morning I sent the recipe to the guy at the NY Times. Knowing that he needs as much of a food and wine angle as possible to make his editor happy, I asked around to find a good local sommelier who also happens to be a hunter. I sent him an email asking for a wine pairing suggestion.

Also, I have a friend who has been doing some amazing, groundbreaking research and experimentation in the area of new yeasts for the making of hard cider. I've been bugging him for years to write a book on cider-making with his data and conclusions. Point is, he makes an astounding variety of ciders with various blends of locally grown appes every year. I've asked him if he can suggest a good cider to pair and send a bottle along for Sunday. This should clinch the 'local food' angle of the article.

Here's my problem: When this article runs, I'm outing my real identity to anyone who reads this diary. I hope I don't end up having to lock this up or abandon it for a new psuedonym.

I've been thinking a lot these past few days about 'doing stuff.' The world is full of people who don't necessarily know much more about a given topic than a million other people, but they 'do stuff' to get media attention and then they get labelled as 'experts' and paid a bunch of money.

I'm signing up for that, please. I know a lot about a few particular topics and while there are others who know a lot more than I do, I happen to be able to write and give good interviews. So now I will profess. I'm going to keep teaching classes and writing books and doing media appearances and asking politely for money for doing all of this. And I will fucking pull it off because I'm filling a niche that nobody else is in popular culture.

What's become clear to me over the last few weeks is that I've just got to be fucking shameless. Ask for the money, ask for the press coverage. Just fucking do it and I'll get a 'yes' often enough to make it worthwhile.

This shit is not what I ever expected to make a career out of. But I'm fucking sick of the insurance business and I need more money. This idea and the opportunities that followed have come my way and I'd be nuts not to make a go of it.

The other thing I'm thinking about is the million other ideas like this that I have had over the years and never did anything with. Man, the money I would have right now if I'd actually done anything with even a few of those ideas.

11:08 a.m. - 2009-11-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far