cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Snow is Stupid

The good news is that I got my laptop and its great. Also that a big deal literary agent is trying to get in touch with me.

The bad news is that we got hit with a massive snowstorm last Friday afternoon and since then I have done almost nothing but deal with its effects. Friday evening through Sunday morning was a constant effort to keep the furnace working while I was snowed in through white-out conditions. Power went out periodically but I was fortunate enough not to lose it long term.

Some well-intended nitwit decided to plow my driveway yesterday with his front end loader without asking. I don't even have the patience to recount all of the things that he fucked up in this process. First of all, he mostly missed the driveway. He didn't know where the fuck it was under the snow. So he was only half-way on it and the other half (lengthwise) is a fucking ditch under a thin veneer of ice and snow. So I come home last night in the dark and think 'great, Trish must have gotten the driveway plowed.' I opened the gate and drive right down it. Halfway there, the car grounded out with the front right hand tire spinning madly in a mixture of slush and mud. Because the moron had made an apparant road over a fucking muddy ditch.

It took me 5 fucking hours to get the car out this morning using some truly ridiculous Rube Goldburg engineering that involved a car jack and scrap plywood. In daylight, I saw that he has absolutely fucking ruined the half of the driveway he'd actually been over. The grading is trashed and he scraped all of the gravel off of it. Since he missed the other half of the driveway, the heaped up snow that went to the sides is now a 3 foot wall of ice right on top of where the car should actually be driving. Meaning that instead of waiting a few days for 18 inches of snow to melt, I now have to wait probably weeks for this fucking ice wall to disappear. The snow, I could have shoveled. Not the ice wall.

At the end by our parking area, he stopped, leaving an even higher heap of snow that BLOCKS TRISH'S CAR IN COMPLETELY.

Oh, but it gets worse. On his way out, dipshit pushed up another heap of snow in fron of the fence to the right of the gate. SMASHING MY FENCE AND BREAKING IT WITH HIS VEHICLE.

I will fucking strangle this moron if I find him. My property is fenced and secured with a latched gate. I think that the message should be pretty clear "this is private fucking property and you probably shouldn't go playing around here with your fucking bulldozer."

But no, he had to open the gate and trespass on my land with a huge piece of construction equipment without so much as knocking on the door to check first. You know, he missed the hidden well head under the snow by a matter of a few feet when he was turning around in my meadow. 7 feet the other way and I would have no plumbing right now.

So this is the shit I have been dealing with for days. On top of which I have all kinds of shit going on with both of my jobs. The deer hunt1ng cl@sses are a fuck ton of work, and I have to reschedule the one from Sunday night (snowed out) and I have no idea when to do it. NPR wants to know where their audio is of a field dressing demo, but I've had 3 scheduled demos snowed or sleeted out in a row and I can't do anything about that. Some entertainment lawyer is desperate to talk to me, that German news network is back and wants to come out in January for 3 day, I have a lit agent I'm playing phone tag with, a book proposal to finish (and no time to work on it), I need a classroom space still for the January intensive course, the dipshits at the game department have been silent since I asked them to help with what they had offered to help with, etc. etc.

This shit is a full time job. And the work is seriously piling up at my actual work. I am insanely backed up now, with emails from 3 weeks ago that I still haven't even read, let alone responded to or acted on.

Seriously, it is high time that someone gave me a nice advance or something for either a TV project or book deal. A commitment to $25k over the next 6 months, with $5k or so up front, and I would seriously just quit my day job and be done with it already.

3:37 p.m. - 2009-12-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far