cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bahamas by Land & Sea

Last night I got about 1 and a half hours of sleep. Fuck. And now Trish has been gone all day and is sleeping over at Mary's house (translation: probably trying to figure out how many drinks and exactly what conversation will be required to put their face in each other's vaginas) tonight. I'm desperately trying to stay awake to look after the kids.

I just couldn't fall asleep. I lay there for hours. Having a bit of a hacking cough and congestion and so forth following having been sick didn't help any.

Right now I'm trying to figure out the cheapest way to get from the lower mid-Atlantic coast of the US to Nassau in the Bahamas without getting on an airplane. This is for early December. The chapters of the new book that will take place on Eleuthera will be so much more interesting if I don't just fly there. My hope is to get there without getting on an airplane. Solely by land and sea.

I have 3 or 4 main options.

First, I could drive to Miami and find a place to park my car and then get on a $300 cruise to Nassau, jumping ship during the port call and hopping the next mailboat from Nassau to Eleuthera.

Second, I could take the train to Miami and do the same from there. This would be much more pleasant than driving 2 days straight. However, its about a 26 hour trip and I don't want to sit and sleep in a regular seat the whole time if I can help it. So I'd get one of the tiny little private rooms with a fold out bunk bed, but that would cost a total of $500 each way. Ouch. And just to get to Miami.

Third, take a cruise ship from one of several nearby ports (each only 3 hours away, one of which I can take a $30 train to). Taking a cruise to Nassau looks cheap, but I could get screwed. Going on a cruise alone can mean having to pay double the advertised price, because I'd be the only one in the cabin.

What I need is someone to come on half a cruise with me. Half a cruise, because I'd be hopping off when we got to the Bahamas. Then they'd have the cabin to themselves. Anyone who wants to volunteer to take a cruise ship to Nassau with me, speak up.

Fourth, I might take a cargo ship. This would be more for the romanticism of the idea than anything else. It wouldn't be much cheaper than a vacation type cruise ship.

Ok, option number 5 would be to ask around and maybe hang out in bars near big marinas and see if I can find someone with a private yacht headed in that general direction who would let me hitchhike. That could actually work, but the problem is that I need to be back in time for Christmas.

I am so fucking tired right now. Tomorrow morning I have an interview with the New Y0rk Times.

6:57 p.m. - 2010-10-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far