cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Fool

Writing these gun reviews has strangely made me feel like more of a writer than working on books has. I think it is the quick deadlines and instant payment.

The second half of the advance for my first book has been delayed for so long that I've stopped thinking of it as a real thing at all. But with the reviews that I'm doing, I have a quota of at least 6 per week to deliver. Whatever I had in by Monday morning, I get $30 a pop Paypalled to me. That really is instant gratification. Write shit and get money that week. I like this. I would like it more if I was getting paid more, but I can live with this.

I only have 2 more of those paydays before I leave for Eleuthera. I have a good shot at having between $700-$900 in that account when I leave, which should cover all of my expenses during the trip.

There is a lot more planning to do. I have people to call in the Bahamas to finish lining up guns to use when I arrive. Apparently I'm going to have to rent a car, which is annoying. Chalk up an extra $300-$400 of expenses for that. Also they drive on the left side of the road. Pain in the ass.

My underwater camera arrived today. The mask one (I have 2 now). This is a diving mask with a built-in 5 megapixel camera so that I can film hands-free while I'm spearfishing. I also have a waterproof standard hand-held digital camera that I bought yesterday. I need to learn how to use both of these things before I leave.

I have completely devoted my life to something insane. I am barely making ends meet. It all reminds me of a tarot card. 'The Fool.' With the guy stepping off of a cliff. That is me right now.

I am become something strange. Something celebrated in America. That man who is crazy enough to throw everything to the wind and follow a vision. I cashed out my retirement account to pay for tickets to the Bahamas. This is insane. The book had better be really fucking good.

10:41 p.m. - 2010-12-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far