cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Roadside Dramas

I'm stopped for the night in Lexington, Kentucky.

I saw a tractor trailer in flames by the side of the highway today. My car always carries a fire extinguisher but this was way beyond what it could handle. I felt terrible for not being able to do anything but call 911. I wanted to pull over and try to put the fire out but in the first place it was too big for the tools I had to put it out and in the second place I could hardly walk, what with the torn ligament in my foot.

Another semi had pulled off to try to do something but the fucking idiot had pulled up literally about 5 feet behind the flaming trailer. The trailer was from some type of a carnival with burning signs indicating 'tickets' and 'snacks.' Odds are that it had propane tanks on board. What this other semi was doing, parking right there, was border-line suicidal.

Whether the tanks blew or if the other truck exploded, I don't know. I called 911 and kept going. Like I said, there was nothing I could do.

My house is about 14 miles away from the epicenter of the earthquake today. Obviously I missed it, what with being on the road. I didn't even feel it, though the timing was so close to the semi being on fire that I wonder if the quake caused it. The damage back home that I've been hearing about from friends and family is much worse than they are reporting on the news. Gas lines ruptured, buildings on fire. Houses and chimneys toppled over. We've always known that we've been sitting on a fault line. Its just been quiet until now.

Meanwhile there's some dipshit walking along the motel corridor outside banging on doors and trying to open them. I really don't feel like dealing with a 911 call right now. So while I was writing this I just stepped outside with my 12 gauge and racked it really loudly before walking back in. Dude took off like a fucking lightning bolt.

12:56 a.m. - 2011-08-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far