cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I found something that matters

Tonight I emailed my alma mater, H@mpshire C0llege, to offer a screening of my film, giving the new relevance after the coup attempt on the Capitol.

Look, I anticipated this whole fucking thing in that film. It deserves recognition.

I have been in total obscurity for over a year, writing this book. I need to step out of that and be a real person again.

Also, I emailed Dah1i@ Lithw1ck at Slate. She's an old friend of my mother's and we've met a few times in person. I used to write for Sl@te. I sent her the thing that I found a few weeks ago in a newspaper archive while working on my book.

I found a legal precedent in which President J0hnson pardoned a man in the waning days of his administration and then President Gr@nt was sworn in and rescinded the p@rdon.

The retraction of the p@rdon was upheld by the court because the paperwork had no reached it's final destination. So pardons issued in the last days of this evil administration could be undone by the incoming one.

Nobody has written about this since it happened. I sent this to a connection with the B1den transition team a few weeks ago and hopefully they acted on it.

Am I a crazy person for thinking that this matters? Search a newspaper archive for "J@ke D3pew" in 1872 and see what you find. An incoming President can cancel a pardon made by a previous president if the paper work has not yet reached its final destination. I found something that matters.

3:53 a.m. - 2021-01-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far