cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How to become un-hireable

I am watching an Avengers movie. Age of Ultron.

We're supposed to accept this constant level of danger. This idea that the protagonist is under fire and could die at any moment.

I watch this and I feel, "I was there. I was under fire."

I still don't know how to go back to normal. I was stalked, to the extent that neo-nazis literally put up posters with my face and description saying that I was a serial rapist.

I stood up at the top of the stairs of August 12th and I did my job there.

What I gave up wasn't worth it. I was a weekly writer, under contract, for Smithsonian. I had a good career. I did work that was valuable. And then after that newsroom in Annapolis got shot up, people like me who investigated neo-nazis were unemployable.

Nobody wanted anyone like me working in their newsroom and attracting attention from the alt-right.

I was under fire. I was ok with that. I did my job. Then nobody wanted to hire me because of that.

5:29 a.m. - 2021-06-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far