cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spinning up stuff with SP1N Magazine

I pitched three stories to my new editor at SP1N and got three yeses.

The B1g Lurch story is on, but Bob G. wants it to be contingent on me interviewing Lurch in person, at his prison. I would also like 3 days in Compton to go through the records of his case at the courthouse. But I'll do it with just the interview if I'm not getting into any kind of adjudication of his case and conviction. That is two grand for me, which should just be less than two week's wages but at this point I will take it.

Then the Ch1nchilla C@fe story is greenlit with $500 tossed my way. I'm doing this mostly as a public service.

I also pitched a new story sort of following up my piece for the WP seven years ago looking critically at every effort at w00lly mammoth de-3xtinction. G3orge Church has a new company that has just raised over a hundred million dollars and is promising to bring back m@mmoths and thyl@cines and the dodo and whatever else will possibly get him more publicity. He has backing from the V1nklevoss Twins, P@ris Hilton, T0ny Robbins, and a star-studded case of cryto-bros and bullshit artists. He still has no way of bringing a baby mammoth to full term. There aren't enough potential surrogate elephant mothers available, and the idea of artificially incubating the fetuses is absurd. Nobody has ever brought so much as a mouse to full term artificially, and it won't be done first with an extinct species that nobody knows anything about.

This thing is looking like a repeat of Ther@nos. I cannot believe that no other media outlet has put this pile of bullshit in their crosshairs yet.

They have a profitable model. Spout bullshit about how they are just about to make mammoths. Distract every other media outlet with idiotic digressions about ethics, so that they spend air time or inch columns of print wringing their hands about whether this is 'right' or not, as if they even have a vote. Then probably merge with a SPAC, go public on the NYSE, pump the stock with a few more well-placed stories, and sell the stock.

They probably should have hired me for their communications team, because I'm back on the journalism side and I'm going to piss all over their parade.

I have some hope that I could get hired by SPIN as an editor or deputy editor. A salary would be nice. The features editor is really good but he is getting overwhelmed and needs help. I could step into that immediately in exchange for a salary of $70k or better and benefits. I could get $100k in quantum if I still gave a shit about the field and actually applied for positions there, both of which are not happening at the moment. I will agree to take less money if I can do real journalism.

The silence from Alex is heartbreaking.

The really killer lit agent who said that she wants to work with me to make my book manuscript more saleable to big five publishers has still not responded to my response to her offer. I'm giving her til Tuesday until I write her off.

1:19 a.m. - 2023-04-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far