cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Being published again is great.

My latest piece in SP1N Magazine ran today. With the predictable level of controversy. Some tens of thousands of people read it.

My first Substack piece had 57 reads. I guess that's pretty good considering that I only had ten people on my initial email list. What I put on there for my first piece was fucking gold. The kind of thing that would have had a few million views when I was writing for Sm1thsonian. A true historical love story with a shocking twist. It's ok. I know that I have to keep feeding this thing for a few months to turn it into something.

One of the commenters to my SP1N piece being posted on Reddit called me a "fascist sympathizer" with reference to my work doing civil rights journalism after 8/12 here in Ch@rlottesville. What a fucking idiot. I spent a year of my life investigating neo-nazis and covering their rallies. Attacking a journalist for accurately depicting historical events is Trumpist-level hackery.

It is in the shadow of all of that shit that I'm trying to reestablish my audience and platform. I spent one year of my life investigating wh1te supremacists and then a year after that being harassed and stalked by nutbags, I just want to write about the surprising people and stories that I've found doing almost five years of historical research. I don't want to be a part of any of that shit any more. I have nothing to say about ant1fa (98% of them were pretty good people) and nothing I want to say publicly about fascists (I want the death penalty for them as often as possible).

I just want to live my life and write stories for those few people who think that the weird stuff that I spend ridiculous hours on is fascinating.

4:35 a.m. - 2023-08-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far