cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

An Outline of Me

I should explain something for anyone reading this who didn't read my old diary.

I have a whole bunch of rifles. And I shoot them a lot. Also I hunt animals for food. I am a passionate believer in the Second Amendment. I am also a very politically active liberal Democrat.

I'm in favor of gay rights and legalization of marijuana and of providing health care to people who don't have any means of helping themselves. I am opposed to the Iraq war. I voted for Al Gore and John Kerry. I'm a member of the NRA and a former Vice-Chairman of my local Democratic Committee.

Yes, you can be a liberal Democrat who supports the Second Amendment. In fact, I have a whole thing about how advocacy for the right to bear arms is actually more consistent with liberal philosophy than opposition to the right to bear arms. But I won't bore anyone with that shit right now.

Other significant things about me:

I turned 29 years old a couple of weeks ago. I stopped visibly aging about 7 years ago. Except for a few grey hairs that nobody but me seems to notice. I don't expect this trend to last forever.

My wife and I got engaged when I was 17 and have been together ever since. We are very happily married and have 2 children. A 3 year old and a 6 month old.

I have zero interest in any team sports except that I like to watch the Red Sox towards the end of the season if they are doing well.

I am at my best in a crisis. Most of the time I tend to be by myself or in a very small group of just a few friends. But if there is a sudden crisis then I will usually end up leading and taking control of the situation. This is true at work, in politics, on canoing trips or whatever.

I've done a lot of weird shit. It's important to me to not be just some random dude with a job and a family and a daily routine. So I do random things like suddenly taking up hunting and shooting out of nowhere a couple years ago. Sometimes I come with ideas for good legislation and I use my political connections to make a new law happen. Sometimes I work as a political strategist for candidates for public office. I want my fingerprints on history even if my name isn't there. My biography needs to be worth writing some day.

A big part of me would have really liked to spend 5 or 6 years in the Army. I tried to join twice but was rejected both times because I only have one kidney (cancer, long time ago). The second time was through ROTC in college. I got a year's worth of training to become an officer before they found out about the kidney thing and I had to leave. As a consolation prize, I did manage to walk out of there with my entire kit of basic infantryman's gear (not including the M16) and nobody ever asked me to give it back.

I dropped a fair amount of acid in college. At this point in my life I have no interest in any drugs except alcohol in moderate amounts but I have no problem with other people using them. My experiences with LSD represent my personal experience with what I suppose you could call the divine. While I do sometimes drift away from that and get bogged down in the rational for months on end, I have those memories to come back to and set me straight again following a bit of reflection. I am not some sort of psychedelic evangelist who thinks that everyone should drop acid. But I do think that what I got from LSD was the kind of transformative, magical experience that most people yearn for but very, very few ever get to experience.

I am a dog person rather than a cat person.

I am obsessed with building things. Houses, in particular. Any kind of small building that one or 2 people could conceivably build themselves.

Weird music. I like weird music that most people would probably find a little scary. Current 93, The Legendary Pink Dots, Coil. Stuff like that. I also listen to a lot of very old jazz and modern British pop like The Arcade Fire or Clap Your Hands Say Yeah and that sort of thing. I collected old records for years before finally having to stop for lack of space.

Television and I don't get along well. I don't have the patience for it. There are only 2 television shows I've really watched regularly in the last 10 years. 'Buffy the Vampire Slayer' and now 'Battlestar Galactica.' I'm sure there is lots of other good stuff out there but I'm just really bad at watching TV.

I don't know what happens to us when we die.


11:35 a.m. - 2007-08-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far