cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Booked a Ticket to Munich!

I did it. I totally did it. I booked a round trip ticket to go back to Munich in September. It felt exhilarating. It also seems that I cannot start a sentence today with any letter other than 'I.' I wonder why that is? Interesting.

Incidentally, probably I can pay for the whole trip just by socking away mileage reimbursement money for business trips between now and September. In this past this was usually earmarked for rifles and such.

I need to get the hotel or whatever sorted out. Infinitely I would prefer to stay at the same place that we did this past month, but that would run me about 850 Euros for the week and I think I have to do this trip on a lower budget than the last one. It turns out that I can rent a nicely furnished studio apartment for a week for only 400 Euros.

Ok, I'm out of steam on the 'I' thing. Just stopped caring.

Anyway, this apartment's location is not perfect. It's out on the other side of the river away from the city center. I could probably walk to the center of town in 40 minutes, or take the subway in 5 (there's a stop a few blocks away) or better yet I should rent a bike for the week. The neighborhood is fine and all, it's just not as central as I would like. But for 400 Euros a week, I think I'll probably take it. The place has a small kitchen, so I can save a lot of money by buying groceries and cooking some of my own meals.

The other nice thing about the apartment is that if anyone else ends up wanting to come with me or meet me there, I've got a place for them to stay without having to worry about whether they can get a room in the same hotel or whatever. They can just crash at my place.

There were a bunch of people who were interested in going to either Munich or Mexico with me, but nobody was likely to be able to make a decision in the next few weeks. Gas prices are going back up and people are starting to travel again and plane tickets are only going to get more expensive in the short term. So I went ahead and just did it and booked the ticket. It feels liberating.

If Erin ends up deciding that she can definitely go to Merida, then I may very well still be up for it. It would just have to be a shorter trip on account of my need to be careful with my vacation days from here on out. We could back something up onto a 3 day weekend and make it a 5 day trip. The trip to Merida would be so inexpensive that I'm sure I can scare up some money for it from somewhere. I now have literally zero credit card debt so it wouldn't be the worst thing in the world to charge $1,000 worth of plane ticket and hotel if I had to.

This is going to be a fun year. I have Munich in September and then in October I'm driving to South Dakota to hunt bison on public land. At some point Erin and I will hopefully be going to Merida to climb all over Maya ruins and stuff. There's deer season in November to look forward to. Between now and my trip to Munich, I think that Ida and I will continue to do a lot of fishing.

Things are pretty good.

10:05 a.m. - 2009-05-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far