cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nothing Like Insomnia for Business Innovation

Yet again I woke up at around 4:30 am last night and could not get back to sleep on account of thinking about my lack of money, the increasing shittiness and falling-apart-ness of my house, etc. So at 5:30 I gave up trying to sleep and got up to take a shower and go to work.

While I was in the shower I thought to myself that I have just fucking got to get some more income happening. And I started thinking about how much better things would be with as little as another $10,000 a year. I started thinking about things that could be done to increase profit at work by that much or more, which I could then claim for my own salary.

I decided that I need to get licensed for a neighboring state and start doing business there.

On my way in to work it was wet outside. It had apparently been raining just before dawn. There was this huge smudge of a rainbow hanging there in the sky. It didn't look like any rainbow I'd ever seen before. Like a big, broad smudge or rainbow which was not shaped like a bow or arc at all.

I took its appearance as a good omen. One that marked this as a fortuitous day on which to start a new endeavor.

Once I got to work I started researching the licensing requirements for WV. I figured out who we needed to contract with to get everything sorted out and formulated my pitch as to why this should be done post-haste. When my father and N. arrived later I announced to them that I want to do this and gave my reasons.

Now its happening. The licensing stuff has already gotten started. It could take anywhere from a few weeks to a month to get that finished. Once I have the WV license in hand then I can start making phone calls to set up appointments with agents. Then the business trips start.

Expanding into a new state could really work. I want some more money, and I expect that I'm already squeezing all of the business I possibly can out of our existing network of agents.

This could be the beginning of a lovely thing. I just want enough money to build a habitable house on my land. It doesn't need to be anything fancy at this point. My standards have gone way down. Just neither rotting nor collapsing.

One very nice thing about leading an expansion of the company into a new state is that I will get to take the credit for basically all of the business that we eventually get out of WV. Even the stuff that I don't personally handle. Not that I want the credit per se. I just want the ability to say 'look, I got up off my ass and created this whole network of agents and business amounting to $500k a year in this state, so I want a $10k bonus and a $50k raise.'

In about 15 minutes that chick is coming by and we're going out for coffee. I still have no idea exactly what the fuck she is pitching.

2:57 p.m. - 2009-08-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far