cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Trip to Munich is Now Tax Deductible

Simon's neck is doing much better. He is acting more or less like he is fine. I think that I dosed him with steroids quickly enough to prevent this from turning into a full-blown flare-up of herniated discs with paralysis, etc.

I found some German hunters in the Munich area to meet up with and talk to while I'm there in September. They are also directing me towards local hunting equipment stores, etc.

This is significant because I think I can use all of this in a few chapters for my book. I want to have a section on hunting and conservation, and I remain convinced that the modern conservation ethic came from traditional German hunting culture.

The bottom line is that my trip to Munich is now tax deductible. It isn't bullshit, since I have 14,000 words of a partially completed book to point to. It has been my plan all along to use this trip to get major work completed on a book, and now I'm doing research in Germany that is related directly to the content of the book. Voila! I have a perfectly legitimate tax deduction.

Tomorrow is Ida's first day of school.

We all went to a big park yesterday. Trish and I and the kids. They were both very well behaved the whole time, including for the hour-long trip in the car each way. We saw river otters and huge fish at the nature center, also bison, elk, bears, deer, herons, etc. Half of these things actually lives in my backyard but its nice to be able to look at it up close.

10:40 a.m. - 2009-08-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far