cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Countdown to Discovery

I'm back from my trip. My class went fucking great. I spent a solid 3 hours last night prepping for it in my hotel room and the 2 hour class this morning was fucking ace. Lots of people approached me afterward to ask questions, propose retarded business deals and thank me.

I look at that a bit wistfully. I mean in the sense that I'm really good at teaching those classes and that whole thing is over when I quit. These are professional development classes for my profession rather than the other classes that I also teach that led to the book deal and so forth.

Theoretically speaking, I could probably be teaching about 5 times more of those than I am. I wouldn't say that I could make a living at it or anything, but it could have been a nice side-line that supported my main business and established me as an expert in my industry. I could have been getting some paid travel out of it, doing some conventions in nice enough places around the US. Not a bad thing to be doing, but just no longer what I intend to do with the rest of my life.

Somewhere I read something recently pointing out that in many cases, the status quo is not the safe thing to do. Change is safer. Because the one thing you can be pretty sure of is that shit will change. The question is whether you have chosen to subject yourself to that change and become a part of it. I think that is the case here. It is a big leap off of a cliff that I am about to make, but it is a leap that needs to be made. It is probably safer than doing nothing.

Tomorrow I go to work and will probably get whined at about all sorts of things that came up and exploded or whatever while I was out of the office. So long as I don't get fired tomorrow, I really don't care. The next day I have off from work to take the train to DC and talk to these producers from the Discovery netw0rk. If that goes well then I will have a new job soon.

I don't just want to sell a concept and be the host. That is the surest way to get written out of a deal. There are plenty of people whom they could cast who would work for less than me and have a better TV resume. I want a production credit for this show - and I intend to earn it.

With this concept, they will need someone like me on the production staff. And the thing is that there aren't a whole lot of people like me. I'm not exactly a common type. They are going to need someone who knows hunting and conservation laws from state to state and district to district; someone who knows what facilities and materials and tools are needed for each location; someone who can find and work with the right sort of guides and field biologists whom we will need to do the show. I can do all of this stuff, and I have experience in working with film crews both as a subject and as a production assistant. I know what they need in terms of light, time, space, power, etc.

So I'm not just asking for a production credit for the sake of vanity. I know perfectly well that I will end up doing all of this shit in order for each shoot to work properly because nobody on their current staff will know this stuff. That is what happened when I was consulting with that UK production company that makes that 'Man vs W1ld' show. First they just said they wanted me to appear in their pilot for their new show, and then it turned into me doing all of the advance work, research and consulting.

I mean, if I'm going to end up doing all of this production work then I might as well ask for a production credit as well as being credited as the creator and host. And it so happens that at the same time I will be ensuring that I will be so thoroughly entwined in the project that I cannot be cut out of the deal after the pilot is done.

If I get a production role with the Discovery netw0rk, then there is a possibility of getting a regular paycheck from them instead of just royalties for appearing as the host. I would like that very much. A production credit would also be a nice resume item that would give me one more thing that I could look to be doing if this whole thing collapses next year. Go work as an assistant producer on outdoor shows. Not what I was planning, but it would be something to fall back on that would pay the bills.

Also I really need a blowjob.

9:01 p.m. - 2010-04-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far