cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Pilot?

I worked for 12 hours straight yesterday. Feh. Around 9:30 pm I finally finished up with outlining an entire season's worth of episodes of this TV show. The producer wanted it all as fast as humanly possible to put in front of his people at Anim@l Planet.

Since I'd be spending their money, I included a few episodes to be filmed in the Bahamas. Eleuthera, specifically. Why? Because I want to spend a week farting around on Eleuthera. Finding details on their hunting regulations has turned out to be a major pain in the ass. I'd be hunting go@ts, which are invasive there so I don't expect any real trouble. Firearms laws might be a bitch.

Yesterday and today we finally had the moment where this production company realized that they cannot have me act only as the host and 'talent.' They cannot possibly produce this show without having me working on the production team as well. They don't know anything about hunting regulations, weapons, firearms law, ecology, where to find any of these species or how much time to budget a crew for in each location. I am going to be doing all of the scheduling and location scouting. Someone else can book the plane tickets and hotel rooms, but other than that I'm going to be doing the bulk of the pre-production work. Which is fine. I just expect to be credited and paid as a consulting producer in addition to whatever compensation I get as the on-screen talent.

That documentary film maker started emailing me again. I don't even know how to explain which one this is. Not the HBO people (I wonder if that documentary with me has aired yet? Nobody tells me anything). This is an independent filmmaker from (you guessed it) Brooklyn. We're supposed to sit down and talk when I'm next in the city. Which might be next week? I don't know.

Oh, cool. I just got an email from my producer and he says this is getting pitched to Anim@l Planet by Thursday of this week (they've already heard the concept and like it, but this will be a more fleshed out proposal). He thinks that they are likely to give us a budget for a whole pilot rather than just a sizzler reel. Fucking awesome! I like a guy who works this quickly.

This is the benefit of having finally chosen to go with the smaller company. I am their main project right now. No waiting around for other shit to get sorted out ahead of me. My show concept is their top priority and they respond to my emails right away. They have less of their own budget to spend than the bigger company did, but that is fine with me.

I wonder if I should try to roll the trip to Eleuthera into the budget for the pilot? Tempting. No, I think it would be smarter to prove to them that we can make this show on the lowest budget possible, making it more likely that we will be picked up.

3:22 p.m. - 2010-08-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far