cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Cusp, Still

I have actual work that I should be doing, but it can wait. Most of the day got straight-up pissed away today.

So last night I went to that big party for the season premier of an acquaintance's TV show. That turned out to be a really good idea. I met scads of people who all knew who I was. Wow! One guy was even talking about how my new book "is kind of turning into a whole phenomenon." The owners of a vineyard and winery asked me to please come out and rid them of some geese and they would also like to host a repeat of my NYC goose event from several weeks ago. I'll work it out on Monday to see if it can be a Sl0w Food event.

The general impression is that I'm a little bit famous. At least regionally.

Then I woke up to the fact that I'm fucking flat broke. I accidentally slept until noon and was woken up by a call from my stock broker who on the one had had to tell me that due to IRS rules I can't have my money wired to me until Wednesday. FUCK. On the other hand, he also happens to host a radio show in Baltimore and he wants me to appear as a guest this Sunday.

After I got off the phone I knew that I'd have to hustle for enough cash to survive on until then. I squared everything away with my client for Saturday. I'm taking him deer hunting. I think he's German. Probably the day will be very enjoyable all around. However, I need money to pay for cash tomorrow and also we're out of milk so I had to hustle off to a pawn shop to raise the cash for that.

What a fucking weird situation. I have so many media appearances and offers of shit that I pretty much need a full time assistant at this point, and yet I still need to hit the pawn shop to buy gas. Its retarded.

I'm worried about the planning for Eleuthera. I need to be finalizing everything and buying tickets NOW. Air fare will go up between now and Wednesday most likely, and its anyone's guess whether those discounted cruise tickets will still be available.

Today I also signed the contract to start freelancing for this outfit that I'm writing the gun reviews for. I'm sitting here waiting for them to give me the fax number to send it back to them (no scanner on my end).

Working as a hunting guide is a good thing for me to be doing, money aside. It is good experience. Taking some random person out in the woods and fields and teaching them what to do will make me better at explaining the craft of hunting, which in turn will improve both my writing on the subject and my ability to explain things concisely and extemporaneously on camera. Its also good resume stuff. For TV, magazines, book promotion, etc. Being able to say that I have worked professionally as a hunting guide is a useful thing.

5:01 p.m. - 2010-11-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far