cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Back-Up Plan

Perseus turned down the book because it is "too serious." I had an editor who went to bat for it but it didn't make it through the editorial board meeting.

So that leaves me with jack shit. Nothing but this shitty offer from my current publisher that my shitty agent is supposedly trying to get increased.

I have formulated a back-up plan. Its not pretty, but I'm willing to do it.

If necessary, I will take this shitty inadequate advance that doesn't even come close to covering the costs of producing the book. But I will then raise the remainder of the money as what amounts to charitable contributions.

The villain will be, naturally, my publisher. I will write a blog entry giving full details about my new book contract with an explanation about how the publisher is fucking me over. I will ask readers to make donations to cover the cost of delivering the book, given the ecological importance of the work.

Will my publisher be pissed? Sure. But I really don't give a fuck. To hell with them. If they don't like it then they should fund the work towards delivering the book. I have no problem with shaming someone who has it coming.

10:56 p.m. - 2011-03-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far