cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The

Time is slipping away and the new book is due to my editor by the end of this month. I have massive amounts of writing to do. Only in the last few days have I really buckled down and started getting it done. I wrote something like 40 thousand words this past winter but haven't gotten much done in terms of solid writing since then. Lots and lots of research and travel, doing the things that I now have to write about.

The good news is that when I get going I can go fast and hard with good quality. I have a lot of days where I crank out 6 or 7 thousand words.

Either today or tomorrow I'm saying 'no thank you' to these people who want me to run for Congress. I can't deal with that shit and run a campaign while also continuing and advancing my current career. I have sacrificed too much and worked too hard to get where I am to just throw it all away for the sake of something that I don't even want very much.

There are also political appointments that I want to seek to certain state boards that would give me the power to demand answers and force solutions to some of the ecological problems I've been running into while working on this book. Being a candidate for Congress would make it impossible to get the support from both parties that I would need in order to get those appointments and then do the work well.

Once I've handed this book in to my editor in a few weeks I'm not sure what I'm going to do with myself. Write magazine articles for a few weeks, I suppose. I need the money badly.

1:53 p.m. - 2011-08-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far