cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rudeness = I Walk

My editor is being sort of a bitch suddenly. I had to take an extension on completion of the new book, largely for two reasons.

They extensively delayed sending me the money to cover travel expenses such that half of the work was pushed up into the last month before the deadline. I cannot just write this book from behind a desk. It involves a lot of travel and time in the field.

Secondly, about two weeks ago I either broke a bone in my left foot or tore a ligament. Its not clear which and the difference is pretty much academic. I'm off of crutches now but I can't walk more than about 50 yards without being in terrible pain. Though I can go farther barefoot, I really don't have thick enough soles to go out in the woods and shit like that.

I sent an email to my editor with everything completed thus far and an explanation of why I need a few more days. She sent back this bitchy email saying: "sorry you can't write more because of your broken foot(?)"

What a bitch. What am I supposed to do, fake the chapter? Am I supposed to lie about hunting these things? I can't hop on one fucking foot for a mile and a half from the car to where I need to be to hunt and fish. This isn't some shit that gets done purely in front of a computer, fueled by caffine and willpower.

I've been literally risking my life for this book for the last year. I've lost almost everything to get this done. My life savings, my health insurance. And her publishing company paid me an advance that covered at best perhaps half of the expenses involved in producing the book, never mind how I'm going to provide for my family while writing a book that by definition has to be a full-time project.

And now, after everything that I have done and sacrificed in order to produce this book, she has the fucking nerve to throw out a comment like that?

I'm pissed off. Pissed off enough that she's not even getting a look at the next book. I'll take it to another publisher. They aren't paying me enough to put up with an insult like that. I will put up with all sorts of things, but a direct insult from someone I'm doing business with means that I walk away. Period.

3:31 a.m. - 2011-09-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far