cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Work.

Today I had that photo shoot/food event/whatever for the snail project. MB, or whatever I was calling her last time I wrote about her, put it together against my better judgment.

As an actual food event, it was shit. I mean, the food tasted good and everything. We had several acclaimed French chefs cooking. But it was all set up for photo ops rather than people actually hanging out and cooking and eating and discussing the ingredient and the dishes.

Its kind of weird being in the middle of that. There were around a dozen people there including the photographers and journalists and chefs and Sl0w F00d people and so forth. And I'm right there in the middle of it being fussed over as a celebrity doing a photo shoot. It was a strange experience.

Tomorrow I have to drive to another city several hours away to do an hour-long pre-recorded interview for a program on NPR. I'm just all the fuck over NPR lately. One of my essays aired while I was in Texas and I am glad that I wasn't close enough to civilization to hear it because I thought it was terrible.

Ridiculously, my immediate problem is that I don't know if I have enough gas money to get there and back. Also I'm in a bad spot with regard to paying for shit for my class this weekend before my students all pay. I have more deposits and things to pay and I'm out of money.

I have a stronger commitment now from my Sierra Le0ne connection for this documentary film I want to make in Africa. In about a week that is where my focus is going to completely shift towards. Both of these projects in Africa need to get underway. Right now I have the name and the credibility to get some actual financing for these projects and I should take advantage of it.

While I would like to take Helenah as my documentary partner on this, I'm not sure that I should. This trip could be very dangerous. So I need to find another filmmaker to partner with. Someone who can deal with the extremely adverse conditions that rural Africa can dish out; someone who isn't a pain in the ass; someone who knows or is willing to learn how to hunt.

9:39 p.m. - 2011-11-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far