cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stuck

I don't trust people very well now.

My editor 'thinks' that I 'should' be getting the money that they owe me 'in a few weeks.'

She is a retarded fucking moron. Everyone in publishing is. They are all fucking idiots who would be fired within 3 months from jobs in any other business.

If you owe someone money, you write a fucking check and put it in the mail, or better yet you do a civilized electronic bank transfer like the rest of the world uses. You do this unless you literally don't have the money. When I worked in business, if someone fucked around like this and didn't pay their bills then they would have been out of the industry immediately.

They keep talking about developing me as an author and being a part of my long-term career. That would be fucking great if they actually paid me the money that they owe me when they owe it. Why would I want to look forward to a long career of this bullshit with them?

Anyway, I'm pretty close to broke and I just desperately need a new vehicle. Desperately. I live in the middle of nowhere and I can't just get on a bus or take the kids and walk the 17 miles to town to buy groceries. Each way.

Its been over 24 hours since I announced this workshop that I'm teaching on the Saturday after next and I only have two sign-ups that have actually paid their deposits and will definitely be there. This is disheartening. On the other hand, my overhead is so low for this class that even if I only end up with around five students I will still make enough money for it to be worth the day's work.

Anyway, I'm just trapped and stuck right now. Can hardly get any work done with watching the kids all day long. Can't get anywhere for meetings or trips. No opportunity to sit down and write, uninterrupted, for hours at a time. I'm trapped by lack of money for a car and for child care. And my laptop is dying and I have so much fucking work to do. And these fuckers from my publishing company are asking me to commit to coming to PA again in September to give like 6 different presentations over 3 days. Pay your fucking bills. Pay me the fucking money that you owe me before you start asking me to give you a week of highly skilled work far away from home.

This weekend I'm taking the train to DC to see Helenah. She actually bought the ticket for me. I'm nervous about not having any money to spend while I'm there. This will be our Valentine's Day weekend and I don't know what the fuck I'm supposed to do about it with no money.

9:04 p.m. - 2012-02-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far