cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gig at Slate

Oddly enough, the approval for my piece in Sm1ths0n1@n is still up in the air, while suddenly I had an article run on Sl@t3 dot com.

The Sl@te thing happened really fast. I spent about 4 hours researching and writing the piece on Tuesday. First it was going to be a blog entry but then I thought I could try to sell it to my new contact at Sl@te. So I read it over again at like 1 am that night and then sent a pitch to the editor. By 4 pm on Wednesday she said she wanted to take it. An hour of edits followed and then the article went live on their site by around 7 pm.

It only pays $200, but the exposure turned out to be huge. I've been getting emails all day from total strangers about it. Hundreds of thousands of people apparently read my article and passed it around.

Now I get to say, ever after, that I've written for Sl@te. And they want me to keep writing for them! I'm going to pitch something else either tonight or tomorrow. Hopefully this writing credit and exposure will make it easier to sell high-paying articles to other magazines.

Three years ago I had a boring desk job and was nobody. Today I've had two books published, have a TV show in development, a feature film is being made about me, I've spoken at the US St@te Department, and I'm writing for Sl@te.

If only all of this shit actually paid a living wage then I could be very happy right now.

6:04 p.m. - 2012-07-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far