cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Just Want Time to Work

I just want time in which to work. Why must everyone deny me this?

During the last week I have had no more than six hours in which to actually write, schedule and do proper work. Six hours. In a fucking week. The problem is largely the fact that I have to meet the kids at the bus stop at 3 pm and look after them constantly until they fall asleep. And then everyone in sight makes constant demands on my time day after fucking day.

On the weekends I have to do my hunting guide work. Tomorrow I have to come on some field trip to a farm with my Kindergartener. On Friday Trish's father needs me to slaughter and butcher his three lambs. Then its my father's birthday on Saturday, with things going on all day into the evening. Etc.

I need to get the fuck out of here. I just don't have any money to go anywhere. I don't even dare drive my truck very far since the brakes are fucked and the tires are balding and the inspection sticker is expired. I need to go rent a cabin with decent wifi and electricity for like two weeks or so just to work FAR FAR AWAY from everyone I know.

What I need is a book advance. Get a new truck or car, pay some bills, and hit the road.

Today I at least managed to turn in the first draft of my new food section piece for Sl@te. This editor is a pain in the ass and it will probably go through five more drafts even though its ready to run right now. Yesterday I turned in my new piece for Sl@te's science section and I got my first feedback from the W@shington Post this morning on my first article for them.

Fortunately, she loves it. We will have a round of revisions, but she is happy with the piece. This means that I'm getting my $500 for it and that I'm clear to pitch more articles to them.

Now I have another article to deliver to a trade magazine and I suddenly owe two pieces to the Huffingt0n Post. I'm sort of unhappy about this because my book publicist told them that I would be very happy to put together a 12 image slideshow of photos from working on my new book, with a 300-400 work introduction and descriptive paragraphs for each one of them. FOR NO FUCKING MONEY AT ALL.

Now I get that this is good for book promotion. Fine. But this isn't just an interview -- this is me spending probably 5 or 6 hours producing original content for a commercial news site. Given the photos being included and how much more money they make from galleries where people click through each photo and load new ads each time, I should be getting paid at least $600 for this. My publicist really shouldn't have told them that I would do this shit for free. Especially since this now prevents me from selling a slideshow of those photos to another magazine's website (which I had been planning to do).

I have work. This is the important thing. Now I just need to somehow arrange the rest of my life in such a way that I have the time to actually do it. Then I need to work on getting paid more for the work I'm doing. I can scrape by on $400 and $500 per piece but I would like to move up a league ASAP.

10:42 p.m. - 2012-10-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far