cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

FIlming a Pilot

Today I had a long conversation on the phone with a producer from N@t G30. Looks like I'm headed to Florida in a few weeks to film a TV pilot.

I'm not getting excited about this. The whole TV industry is retarded and is staffed by retards. I don't give a fuck whether or not I get a TV show. I've been around in circles over this shit too many times to take any of it seriously. The part about this thing in a few weeks that I like is the fact that I'm getting paid $200 a day plus expenses. It will take about a week to film this thing, so I should be taking home between $1,000-$1,400 for the job.

If they order a full season with me in it then I suppose that would help me negotiate a better deal on my next book. I honestly don't want to do a TV show unless I can walk away from filming with a year's worth of household expenses for the 4 or 5 months of work. Doing TV means putting up with dumbed-down, disingenuous crap, long hours, and a crew of morons following you around at all times. I would much rather be writing books and magazine articles. Had the freelancing thing moved along better than it has, then I might have turned down the N@t Ge0 offer.

I don't know where the hell my career is going. I just don't really have a plan anymore. Since the new book launched I've just been doing book promotion and writing articles and going with the flow. I think I'm trying to get established as enough of a public intellectual and notorious adventurer that S@lon or someone hires me to write full-time and I can do big-dollar freelance articles on the side. Maybe put out a new book every 18-24 months. That would be nice. I would prefer a career like that to some big ugly TV thing.

Frankly, I'm just taking anything and everything that pays remotely decent money.

9:49 p.m. - 2012-10-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far