cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is actually terrifying

Inched closer today to locking down the job in Florida. I also lined up the job interview for the position in NoVa on Monday morning. And I nailed my job interview today for the position at UC Santa Barbara, but I'm not sure how I could manage getting a place to live there if they make an offer at any price. Somehow I'd have to find a cheap place to live temporarily for a few months while I save some paychecks and the research I've done suggests that is not the type of city where that is likely to work out.

The Florida job makes the most sense. There are rooms for rent where I can stay some place for $300 to $500 a month for a few months before I have enough to rent a house or apartment.

This is really hard to do. To go from being utterly destitute to accepting a job for around $65,000 in a city over 700 miles away where I don't know a single person. Especially when I'm not on Facebook and I'm completely isolated from everyone. I have nobody to ask for advice or help from. Climbing out of this hole is going to be really tough. My credit is ruined, so it's going to be hard to rent a place to live. My car is on it's last legs and the inspection sticker and registration are expired and I'm not sure it is wise to try to drive it 700 miles to Florida when the out of state plates will make me a target for cops the whole way down.

I am astounded at how much value I seem to have on the job marketplace since I started looking all over the US and revised my CV. To have 3 different universities and two large non-profits courting me simultaneously is shocking. And all of them for $55-85k salaries after years of scraping by on typically less than $1,500 a month with no access to medical care.

On Monday I get paid 10 days late and $400 short by Rewire. I will have $1,200. I'll get my car insurance reinstated and deal with this shit with the ticket for the expired inspection sticker to keep my license from getting pulled. And on Tuesday I'm getting a hair cut. Holy fucking shit I am desperate for a hair cut.

And then I'm going out Tuesday night with my friend Emily, who was that fan girl that invited me to a New Year's Eve party a few years ago and I fucked her all night and again in the morning. That Emily. She moved here 6 months ago and we hang out pretty regularly now. We would probably be fucking each other except that she still lives with her boyfriend whom she moved here with and is trying to break up with and move out if she can find a roommate, and I am staying with family while I plot this career jump.

I wouldn't date her. She drinks too much and gets screechy when she is drunk and for various reasons it just wouldn't work. But we spend time together and commiserate and get kinda drunk sometimes and make out. And she keeps trying to fix me up with her co-worker, Dana (not the Dana I was dating a few months ago), whom I have a huge crush on, but my life is in no position to date right now.

Man, Dana and I would be perfect for each other. But I have nothing to offer right now. I'm broke and preparing to move out of state. She looks just like Gala Dali. We have the same attitude towards life. I shouldn't dwell on it too much. I don't have a future here in Ch@rlottesville. There isn't a job for me here right now.

So we'll go out on Tuesday night for my birthday. I will, as it turns out, live that long. I have been short-listed for so many jobs that it's worth living and I am not going to kill myself in the next few days as I had been prepared to do. There's a way out. Maybe a few ways out. And I'm gonna have a rough few months perhaps, staying with some random roommates in Florida. Which could actually be a great time with the right people.

What I'm about to do is one of the scariest things I have ever set about in my life. I say this as someone who has stabbed a bear and been bitten by a black widow and run down wild pigs on foot with a knife and stood in the middle of a riot with neo-Nazis threatening to kill me. This is harder than any of those things.

1:29 a.m. - 2018-07-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far