cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lockdown is going ok now.

Lockdown is going all right now. I'm about to wrap up my second week at this new job, working entirely remotely as the new communications director for H@bitat for Hum@nity.

My kids are here now, which is a huge improvement. My mother's test came back negative.

My daughter is spending a lot of time practicing all of her instruments. My son has been doing a lot of fishing on our two ponds and is getting pretty good at pulling out crappie.

Fishing is an important skill. I see this as a valuable period of education. He's also out in the canoe a lot, getting better with a paddle. I go out for an hour or so with him to fish every afternoon around 6 pm.

We've been eating fish for dinner most nights, since that's what's happening.

Turkey season is about to open up and maybe we'll get one.

It's good to have a job and useful things to do. I like what I'm doing. I like the work, I like writing, I like contributing. We're trying to prevent having 2,000 people in our network from becoming homeless now that most of them are out of work. It's good to have a mission again.

I'm having some wine tonight, hence thinking to post something here. I honestly only write here when I've drank a bit. But this is the first time I've had a drop since last weekend.

If I have anything to worry about, it's that my father is not observing isolation like he should. He keeps going shopping, and hasn't taken his office 100% remote. I've explained to him how to set up remote access to the company server but he isn't following through.

I have a job that pays pretty well now. I will be able to rent a nice house when things thaw out. I have money for any groceries that I want, and I've been able to buy fishing gear and other little things. I can buy a more functional car next month.

For the last few months I've been dealing with this car situation. I replaced the alternator back in June or so but it didn't come with a new retaining nut to hold the cable on to the B positive terminal. So I used the old one, which turned out to be made of a dissimilar metal and the resulting electrolysis fractured the terminal, which split in half.

So I've had to constantly re-rig the cable the battery by various means. The battery light comes on, I pull over and struggle to get the hood release to work and then fuck with the cable connector to get it to work for another 20 miles. Then it repeats.

This is a 2000 model Lexus.

Also I had a flat tire last month and replaced it with the spare while I was still broke and now I'm driving around on the spare and tire shops aren't open any more to get two new tires on the back end.

Also the engine leaks oil and it has over 320,000 miles on it. I need a new car.

This thing just needs to run for another month or two and then I can buy one. I'll have the money and hopefully by then we can come into contact with other people to buy used cars. Meanwhile, I'm keeping this thing going day to day with a set of tools and a stash of motor oil.

I am keeping everything together with a set of skills honed by years of poverty. I can fix anything slowly, I can catch fish, I can hunt and kill deer, geese, turkeys, beavers, or anything else that moves. I can butcher and cook anything. My kids can hunt, butcher and cook anything. I've taught them for their whole lives everything that they need to deal with this. We are in the right place to survive this.

11:33 p.m. - 2020-04-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far