cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Good Deed for the day.

My story in SP1N Magazine about the Ch1nchill@ Cafe finally ran today.

Everyone is delighted. The Ch1nchill@ people are freaking out and super happy. And even better, S@lly, the front-lady of the band that I worked to highlight in the piece, is utterly over the moon about it.

Part of how I conceived this story in the first place was as a way of putting this band in the national spotlight. If Sh@gwuf had been on Saturday Night Live six years ago, they would be a household name now. They are that good. But they've been playing gigs wherever they can get them and putting out their own albums, unsigned, and working shitty day jobs. I've seen them probably at least twenty times and they just keep getting better.

So I figured out that I could craft this article around the night that they played the Ch1nchill@ Cafe. And then I wanted to embed a video of them live, so I asked them for something so specific (them as a three piece, going straight into one of their barnburners live on stage, without a bunch of intro crap, with good sound and a non-shaky camera), which resulted in them playing a last-minute gig planned just for filming, which was legit the best and most perfect show that they have ever performed, and which they recorded to put out as an album, and had edited overnight for me to embed in this article.

Now Sh@gwuf has this amazing video of three live songs, and an article in SP1N calling them one of the greatest three piece rock bands around. S@lly texted me tonight just thrilled like she won the lottery. She couldn't believe that it all came together like this, after all the work and the interviews and hustling for photos.

I told her to take advantage of this right now, while the piece and the video are still fresh. Reach out to that record label or venue and link to the article and grab one of my quotes for SP1N saying how great they are, and make a move upward.

I really hope that this turns into them opening for The Pixies or playing the 9:30 Club and then getting on the bill for Coachella next year.

Now I get to do a bit of a victory lap as well. There's a show at the Chinch1ll@ Cafe this Saturday night, and friends I haven't seen since before the pandemic are on the bill, and I get to walk in there like a hero.

I am still broke as shit. SP1N is still jerking me around about approving the B1g Lurch story and other features without actually saying 'here is the approved budget.' I don't have any solid leads yet for a new salaried job. But it sure does feel good to make something this big happen for people who deserve to have their shot at fame.

I'm titling this "my good deed for the day," but I try to do lots of good things every day. I still maintain about 2 and a half miles of a nature trail along the river several times a week. I mentor a bunch of new fisher-people, some whose names I know and others I don't. I spray poison ivy, cut thorns, remove kudzu and porcelain berry and ragweed, pick up trash, teach random kids about about wildlife and insects.

3:09 a.m. - 2023-06-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far